top of page

What you said about us...

We had a great vacation at Anna and Ian's cottages. We really enjoyed the outdoor areas with activities such as badminton, pool area and places for sunbathing. The cottages were nice and clean and were well equipt with all that we needed. Anna and Ian were the perfect hosts, with quick responses before our vacation, and were very helpful during our stay. An excellent place for a relaxing vacation for a big family.

Emma, Whole Site, July 2023 - Air BnB

Cosy places, hammocks and we like the big cottages in general. Thank you for a pleasant stay. 

Emma, Guest Book Review. 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Anna & Ian were extremely helpful and kind. Both very accommodating, cheery and friendly throughout our stay. Could not faulty their can do and did do attitude. Awesome stay. Thank you. 

Julie, June 2023 - Air BnB

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Shower is good. Facilities is good. Bed comfortable. Hosts friendly. Lovely stay, would recommend and come back. 

Debra, Bumblebee Cottage, Guest Book Review, September 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Everything clean, comfortable, well equipped, in a beautiful setting. Close to the centre of town, so quiet & peaceful with lots of amenities. welcoming and friendly hosts. A real hidden gem! 

Jan, Bumblebee Cottage, Guest Book Review, 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Great set up for multiple families. Really helpful having basics provided, e.g. dishwasher tablets. 

Value for money. Woodland garden, communal space for group to share. Have thought about all of the little things that people might need. Friendly and super helpful hosts. 

Whole site, Guest Book Review, 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Close to all amenities, including trains and cinema. Lovely couple, very, very helpful. Peaceful, very attractive gite gardens, steam and friendly ducks. 

Guest Book Review , 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Thank you again for a wonderful week.

You've created a real haven for family groups, it worked perfectly for us. And thanks for adding the extra touches for the children, they had a brilliant time too. We wish you all the best for the season ahead, I'm sure your guests will be delighted! Many thanks again, Izzy

Izzy, Whole Site, May 2023 - VRBO

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Ian and Anna were great hosts. Beautiful surroundings. Easy walk into town. Very helpful, even picking us up and dropping us off at the train station was a great bonus. Thank you 😊

Julie, April 2023 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Absolutely amazing just left the gîte ( lavender ) with my boyfriend we both loved it

seriously recommend it will definitely be back soon thank you again to Ian and Anna for the

amazing welcome.

Eleanor, Lavender Cottage, February 2023 - Facebook.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Could not wish for a nicer welcome. The gite had everything we needed and more. Fantastic location, secluded yet within walking distance of Ruffec centre. Lovely natural grounds with ancient washing area. Would definitely stay again, highly recommended.

Hazel, Bumblebee Cottage, January 2023 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

What a beautiful relaxing location, my husband and I stayed over 1 night whilst travelling through France back to the UK. We was met by Anna and Ian on our arrival they were so welcoming everything and more was available in our accommodation including logs for woodburner, was so cosy. just wished we had longer to have explored more . The grounds are so tranquil to wander around and local restaurant was amazing. We will definitely be back. Highly recommend.

Helen, Garden View Cottage,  January 2023 - Facebook

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Great host thank you clean home.

Ibrahim, Bumblebee Cottage, January 2023 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We had a great time at Anna-Lisa and Ian's place! It felt like home. Their cottage is very pleasant, inside and out.
In addition, Anne-Lisa and Ian are lovely hosts.

We can only recommend their cottage.
The city of Ruffec is also a small town that is quite friendly, lively and with all amenities within walking distance.

Anne-Sophie, Bumblebee Cottage, November 2022 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We have just had 5 wonderful days in bumblebee cottage!!! It was absolutely fantastic very quaint and extremely well kitted out with everything you could ever need. Beautifully and delicately decorated and furnished. Very comfortable bed with views of the stunning property. Just a few mins walk into the market town of Ruffec.

Anna and Ian are wonderful hosts. We just couldn’t have asked for more. Loved the outside kitchen and pretty splash pool. Just a perfect location for relaxing and exploring

We will definitely be returning here.

Cathy, Bumblebee Cottage, September 2022 - Facebook

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We have stayed in a few gites in France over the years and I believe that Rue du Chateau is one of the best.

As Rue du Chateau's first family guests, we were there to do a 'test-run' and we had an amazing week in Ruffec. 

Anna and Ian were always on hand if you needed them and not intrusive when you didn’t. The property and grounds are beautiful and the standard of our gite, Bumblebee Cottage, was excellent with everything we could have needed during our stay, including a dishwasher. We loved eating outside at every mealtime with plenty of our own space.

I would definitely recommend Rue du Chateau for a relaxing break away.

 

Thank you again for a great week!

Chloe, Bumblebee Cottage, May 2022.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

A very lovely welcome from Anna and Ian on arrival, had a lovely welcome pack with all information on the gites, shops, restaurants etc. The gites were very cosy and spacious the garden is beautiful and has games to play, an outside pool and lovely seating area to sit and relax. The town is walking distance, with some lovely views.

 

Would stay here again for sure as everything

was just so good.

Maria, Whole site, October 2022 - Google

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Me and my partner had a fantastic and relaxing four night stay at the Sunflower cottage. Anna and Ian were very welcoming and we had everything we could need. Rue du Château has several places to just sit and relax including a small forest area; it's easy to forget that you are just a short walk away from the town centre.

 

We will definitely be staying again!

 

Ben, Whole Site, October 2022 - Google.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Excellent stay thank you We recommend this retreat of peace. 

Suzy, Whole Site, August 2023 - Air BnB

The group liked the gardens, the pool and the arrival hamper. The fans available in bedrooms. Host availability. We had a pleasant stay, thank you. 

Location ideal, large gites and quality of presentation. 

Above comments from our Guest Book. 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We stayed at the gite for 5 nights as part of a road trip across France. Anna-Lisa and Ian were great hosts. The gite (Bumblebee Cottage) was perfect for our family of three. We particularly enjoyed the above ground pool which they installed following issues with the permanent pool. We really appreciated that they gave us a heads up on this - and the replacement pool was great. There was lots to do for kids and the grounds were so lovely and peaceful. The ducks were very friendly and we even saw a red squirrel! The wind gently rustling the leaves in the tall trees and the stream were so restful. We went canoeing and horse riding within a 15 minute drive. The town was a short walk, although it felt like you were in the middle of the countryside. It was an idyllic break which we totally recommend.

Sarah, Bumblebee Cottage, August 2023 - Air BnB

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Beautiful balance between modern comfort and ancient charm. Your sincere welcome and availability. A wonderful vision you are building here. 

Julian, Whole Site, Guest Book Review, July 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We have stayed in a few Gites locally and it is beautifully furnished. The grounds are beautiful too. It is a lovely Gite, well done and best of luck with everything. 

Lavender, Guest Book Review, April 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Well equipped. Clean and tidy. Comfortable beds.

 

It is clear there has been a lot of thought put into the Gites and also the garden areas. Really lovely outdoor space, the pool is fab. 

Lindsey, Lavender Cottage Guest Book Review , 2023 

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Anna & Ian were so welcoming and friendly! The location was perfect, the gite was beautiful and the grounds were just stunning! We highly recommend a stay at Gites Rue du Chateau!

Robin, Bumblebee Cottage, June 2023 - Air BnB

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We had a wonderful week in May at this collection of gites in Ruffec. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of games - we enjoyed badminton, petanque, table tennis and football - as well as the forest to explore and lots of hammocks to lounge around and take in the surroundings. The splash pool was out of action when we visited but Ian and Anna had arranged a temporary pool which was perfect for the children to play around and adults to cool down. Whilst each gite is separate, they share a communal space with indoor and outdoor tables so everyone can sit round together. The buildings have plenty of character with lots of lovely little touches whilst being fitted out with modern kitchens and bathrooms. Kitchens well-equipped, linen and towels provided and plenty of pool towels too. Nearby we explored the river at Aire de Rejallant, great for splashing about, swimming and dam building, with playground and sandpit adjacent. We also did the velo train at Confolens and Jardins d'Argentor, both good half days out. But mostly we just enjoyed being on-site and found there was enough to occupy our children ranging from 1 to 10. Ian and Anna were great hosts and really passionate about sharing their wonderful property with guests. Thank you both for a fantastic week!

Whole Site, May 2023 - VRBO

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Well-equipped accommodation.

I highly recommend.

Michael, Lavender Cottage,  February 2023 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Very nice accommodation,

a fantastic welcome from Ian and Anna

I highly recommend it some shops around to walk around but the site itself is beautiful I would definitely go back perfect for a lovers weekend

Thankyou Ian and Anna xx

Valentin, Lavender Cottage, February 2023 - Facebook.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Thank you for this stay
the accommodation is very nice and tasteful!
it's not very hot but the fireplace is very comforting!

Nathan, Lavender Cottage, January 2023 - Airbnb

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Very nice accommodation and very clean,

good hosting

Olivier, Bumblebee Cottage, November 2022 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Superb welcome from this English couple in this beautiful quiet place... we highly recommend,

Lydie, Bumblebee Cottage, November 2022 - Airbnb.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

We stayed in Bumblebee Cottage. It’s beautiful. Has everything you could need and more for a comfortable stay.

The outside area is so relaxing, with tables and chairs for your own use, even an egg chair!

The splash pool is ideal to cool off in, and there is even badminton on the lawn!

A very relaxing place to come to and unwind with your family.

Suzanne, Bumblebee Cottage, September 2022.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

A very warm welcome.

Countryside in the middle of town.

Very comfortable.

Loved my stay at Lavender Lodge.

Aude T, Lavender Cottage, September 2022.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

Had a brilliant time at Gites Rue du Château, staying in Lavender cottage.

Spacious rooms and great facilities. The pool was perfect for cooling down on hot days. Ian and Anna were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble.

Lots to explore in and around Ruffec, which is just a short walk away. Would absolutely recommend.

Nathan, Whole Site, August 2022 - Google.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

I stayed with a group of friends and family, we occupied 3 of the 4 cottages and this was the ideal place to stay.
The holiday had everything we wanted and more.
It’s lovely and quiet but the town is walking distance.
The pool is perfect and cools you down a treat as it’s a real sun trap.
The various games such as badminton, table tennis and bowls kept us entertained. Ian and Anna also lit the pizza oven for us one night and we had our own mini bake off for bread.
Ian and Anna went above expectations for hosting, the attention to detail in the gites is great, they have thought of everything.
I’ll definitely be returning and I’d recommend this place to everyone. It’s a place to make memories.

Carly, Whole Site, October 2022 - Google.

Copy of Copy of Add a subheading (4).png

You can leave us a new review or see our other reviews on
Google here or on Facebook here

bottom of page